Player of the Year & Player’s Championship

Members are awarded points depending on how they finish in a given tournament. The member who earns the most points in the time frame specified yearly will be declared OSWGA Player of the Year. Members who have earned enough points to get them into the top twelve (and ties) will be invited to play in the Players’ Championship. This event is a celebration of the season. Players will compete for the top gross and net prize and join the victors in a celebratory meal!

Points may be awarded depending on the prize structure of each tournament as listed on the next page. Most tournaments include more than one flight. When this occurs, each flight will be awarded points in the same manner.  Should there be ties by two or more teams, points will be awarded equally to each team, as if each team was in sole possession of that position.  This is in contrast to the calculation for prize purposes, which will still be decided by matching cards rules otherwise described in this handbook.

In order to be eligible for points in a given year, participants must be OSWGA members in good standing as of April 1st of that given year.

Point totals end with the tournament on September 18th, 2023. Points after September 18th are NOT carried over to the next year.

(Board members have opted to exclude themselves from the Players’ Championship.  They remain eligible for Player of the Year.)

Point Structure

All Divisions & Flights (Gross & Net – one award per player or team)

Place Medal Play 2 Person Team 4 Person Team Four Ball Amateur
1 152 76 38 120 152 + 50*
2 120 60 30 88 120
3 92 44 22 65 92
4 68 32 16 44 68
5 48 22 11 32 48

*+50 point bonus will be awarded to the Amateur Medalist (lowest scorer). If 2 or more players tie and no playoff is allowed, both or all medalists will receive the 50 point bonus. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.